The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream—a dairy product made from milk—at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

The author of the letter tries to conclude that farmers are inflating their prices from a bunch of data about labor prices changes in a ten years period and by citing an increase in the number of farms. Unfortunately, there is a considerable amount of flaws in the argument that deeply weakens its compelling and convincing power. In particular, there is an incorrect use of percents and some assumptions about local markert and past economical circumstances are not lucid.

To begin with, there is a possible incorrect interpretation of percents. As it is clear, an increase of 25% can result in d...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.