The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Authority in a society is the tool of a government to manage the society itself, keep order in the nation and be sure that everything flows as expected by the governors. Through our history, we have seen many political systems that have brought up different results as regards the well-being of a society: usually, some of them crucially increased it, like democracies, while other, such as dictatorships, often diminished it. This is mainly related to the level of possibility people had to question authority.

To begin with, it seems wise to consider the way democracy enhances the well-being of a nation. In fact, such a political system was originally designed to achieve a government that could be both representative of the larger part of the population and harshly criticized by the opposition. For instance, political science pundits maintain that the stronger the power given to the opposing part, the more consistent the level of democracy.

The direct effect of the role of opposition is, uncontrovertibly, the constant questioning of the decisions made by the present government, thus resulting in more discussed and so perfected policies and acts. The highest instance of these mechanisms is the late 18th French Revolution: by the means of a virulent and extreme action of opposition, people rose up against the king and construed again all the rules and assessments related to government, hence greatly burgeoning freedom, equality and sense of nation, all undoubted aspects of the well-being of a society.

On the other side are all the forms of government that refuse to give any crucial role to opposition, such as kingdoms and dictatorial governments. The first ones, nowadays quite uncommon, represent most of the political forms of our history. They all shared one feature: they could only be enhanced by the kings themselves, only exception being the eventual consultors suggesting the king with their ideas. Being all dependent upon the cunning art and experience of the king, these forms of government could easily wind up in a poorer population , be it for a remiss king or for his wrong (and unquestioned!) decisions.

Dictatorial governments follow the same pattern: they leave no space for dialogue and the one governor is expected to rocket up the well-being levels of his society. What if he has a parochial view on economics? What if people feel abused by the ruler impositions? Of course, this makes it clearly evident that nations need a government to be questioned by its people, so that governors themselves can have a mean to assess their operations.

About dictators, one could concretely argue that the power given to the ruler in such a particular government system are large enough to give him more freedom than other rulers have to accomplish the political goals he seeks for. So did argue, for instance, Socrates. Nevertheless, we have examples that prove this wrong. Mussolini, in the early 20th-century Italy, and Hitler, same period, in Germany. It is undeniable that, mainly thank to the almost unlimited political power they had, they could engender a polished and ordered society with many good aspects. It is also world-wide acknowledged, though, that both the governors ended up being responsible for the worst acts of our recent history, namely, World War II and deportations. Would they have been able to do this in the same way if an opposition or even just the citizens had had chances to stop them and show them where they were erring?

In conclusion, it is to be deemed correct that questioning authority in the form of politics and governors brings fundamental advantages to a society, even if it means hindering the governors and qualifying their powers: this is, in fact, mandatory to ensure that they cannot abuse the well-being of their citizens making them poorer or acting greatly differently from what they expect.