On this year’s survey about work habits, our employees tended to strongly agree with the

idea that if they took less time to complete their assigned work, the quality of their work

would suffer. However, we recently conducted an internal study that proves this idea

wrong. Managers across several divisions identified an overtime group: the employees

who worked an average of 48 or more hours per week over the past year instead of the

expected 40 hours per week. We then looked at the number of documented work errors

produced by all of our employees during the past year and found that the overtime group

was responsible for significantly more work errors overall than their fellow employees. On

the basis of these findings, our recommendation to the company president is to require

employees to complete their work during the regular 40-hour work week and allow

overtime only for urgent circumstances.

The Human Resources director suggests his company to require workers to complete their assignments during their normal 40-hour work week and to expect them to make use of overtime only for urgent occurrences. This is a recommendation is derived from a reasoning chain that, unfortunately, shows a considerable amount of flaws, thus strongly weakening the compelling power of the argument. In particular, some questions are to be answered in order to prove the consistency of some consideration: for instance, no real conlusion can be assigned to the argument if no info is given about the surveyed divisions, just as more data are requested to get a clearer image of the importance of the work errors identified in the overtime group. Moreover, it is unavoidable to need some explainations about what happened during the considered and surveyed year.

To begin with, numbers. There are some holes, an opaque use of some counting expression that contribute to make the data used to back up the argument more immaterial. It is probably to be deemed correct that the most crucial superficiality is in the word "several": what are the several considered divisions? What is their number? In fact, they could be so irrelevant as to make no concrete sense in the aims of the argument. Say, for example, that the divisions are just a couple over twenty disparate divisions: what would be the mean of analysing this unrepresentitive number of areas? Aligning to the same flaw, it is not lucid at all the quantity of workers that are part of the overtime group. How many are them? If they are a discrete and low number, they should not be considered at all to strengthen the argument.

Similar to this number error is a sort of "quality defining" mistake. In fact, we are given no clues about the kind of errors made by the overtime group (just as we do not know the specific number of the same errors). Hence, the argument could be not uncontrovertible at all if, for example, the kind of errors are not influent to the overall work or if the cited "high number" of this errors is nothing compared to the hypotetically tragic mistakes made by the normal time workers. In other words, we know that the overtime group made more errors, but we need to deepen the question by gathering more information as to qualify these errors and really assess their role in the argument.

An other point that seems not ininfluent is the substantial lack of description of the circumstances under which the survay has been made. As a matter of fact, if some evident changes or events have occurred during the year, the survey would not be thst interesting to evaluate the strenght of the argument. For example, some new and unexperienced fledgling could have just been employed in the company, or some new sort of product have been introduced to the internal production process. In other words, what happend in the last year? As it is evident, the Human Resources director could have done a cogent work with this argument, but we really need to know something more about numbers, quality of errors and recent events. Some of this info, as above maintained, could seriously prove this argument wrong.