The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Because of the problematic overdeveloping of the county of Maple, the local council makes some researches and analysis to predict the possible results of a development-limiting measure. To do this, it considers the chances of an increase in the price of housing in the county, deriving this occurrence by comparison to other counties. It is evident, though, that the argument fails to furnish a strong reasoning chain to support the conclusions: in fact, a number of flaws and holes in the entire argument undermine its convincing power. In particular, some questions need to be answered to clear the connection between the Maple County and the other counties, either in space and time; at the same time, some words should have been spent about several terms that, after all, sound superficially as used in the argument.

First of all, as mentioned, there is an opaque use of the parallelism among different counties. In fact, we are given no specific information to locate the other two counties cited, that is, we do not know where Chestnut County and Pine County are. Is it to be deemed correct that these two counties are representative of a similar geo-economical situation to that of Maple County? It could be the case, for example, that the two counties saw different changes in the local housing prices because their economy followed a different path, maybe because they are crucially far away from Maple. They could have experienced, for instance, a rocketing up in the local industries income, thus resulting in a maximized value of local housing. We just cannot assume that because in those counties pricies went in a certain direction, than also Maple Counties housing will go through the same path.

Moreover, there is an undoubtedly wierd use of time comparisons. Look at the periods underlined by the council as germane to the argument: we read about a Chestnut County measure of ten years ago, immediately later compared to a similar measure adopted by Pine County fifteen years ago. It is not clear why they should be interesting to assess the validity of the present measure, nor the history of Chestnut and Maple economies is qualified. To what exstent is the present of Maple County comparable to the past of the ther two counties? Isn't it possible that ten years ago the restriction adopted in Pine County were motivated by totally different circumstances, like a momentous market crysis or, on the contrary, a terribly overdeveloping, much greater than the Maple one?

What is more, an inconsistent and substantially uncompelling use of a noticeable number of words has been done. For instance, how "similar" is the measure adopted in Chestnut County to that the Maple council is about to adopt? Then, the housing prices in Pine have "doubled", but what are the base numbers of the doubling? If for example, the initial prices were immaterial and totally irrelevant, the comparison would be uneffective to the aims of the council. Again, the same final conclusion has a incorrect superficiality: how "significant" is the expected increase in the prices of housing in Maple County? Of course, if it is proved to be high enough to be influent, then the argument would wind up being more cogent. Unfortunately, though, the term "significant" remains unqualified and the argument insufficiently sustained.

To sum up, the council tried to give an explanation for his prediction of the incresing in the housing price, but neglected to find out further data about some questions and assumptions that, if proved wrong, would dramatically weaken the argument itself. Indeed the council conclusion could hold true, namely, the prices could rise up in parallel to those of the other two counties, but we cannot just deeply trust the argument if we are not given the necessary information.