The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The writing states that proponents of the housing restriction argue that a similar legislation lead to subtle results in the Chestnut city while the opponents asserted that the housing prices were significantly increased. However, both sides need to supply additional information to make the arguments cogent. It should argue that the past situation is similar with the present, and 3 cities share various common characteristics, and finally should substantiate the increased prices.

First of all, both sides are adducing past example of housing restrictions which is not persuasive. In the case of Chestnut city, 10 years ago there were not many residents willing to move to the suburbs and thus even though the construction of new houses were limited, it has subtle effect on their prices. However, in contemporary society more people may want to live in the idyllic environment after they retire from their jobs thus increasing the influx of residents into Maple County. Hence, house prices will jump significantly compared to the past situation of Chestnut city. This example can by applied to the case of Pine county since the dissidents also quote the past incidence of this district.

Next, both sides makes a mistake by not substantiating the increased amount. In the case of Pine County, 15 years ago the economy may have been in a period of deflation, and thus the general price of all goods was low. Then if the average prices of houses were $10 for example, even a $10 increment in price will lead to a doubling of the price. Thus to corroborate that the doubling of a price is truly a enormous change, the opposition should mention the actual price change of the residentials. Similarly, Chestnut County's modest increase may also mean a $10 to $10 increase, since $10 is just a small amount to some people.

Last but not least, neither the proposition or the opposition succeeds to give information about the characteristics of the districts. Even though Chestnut County experienced a insubstantial effect in housing cost raise, it may be due to the vacancy of houses already present in the region. There is a possibility that the government decided to develop this region but after the construction of houses, residents were not attracted to this town leaving many homes available. On the other hand, the Pine town's houses may have been already saturated, thus any influx of dwellers may resulted on a huge increase in prices. Therefore, to further support the arguments, they should the differences of the 3 towns.

In conclusion, the residents of Maple town need to further support their asseverations by providing additional evidence. They should elaborate on the disparate conditions of the past and present, present the price change in objective scale, and finally supply information about the 3 cities that may affect housing prices.