The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument state that the council of Maple county is concerned about the overdevlopment of county which will impede the development of existing farmland. Moreover, the council is also worried about the restrictions, if they limit the supply of new housing it will eventually increase the prices of new housing. However, before this argument to be evaluated properly, two questions must be answered.

First of all, has the development of existing farmland hampered due to overdevelopment of maple county? In other words, can the causation of underdevelop farmland be due to unfavourable weather conditions, or animals feeding on it? It is possible that due to unfavourable weather conditions the farmlands were in a state of undeveloped condition. The heavy rains have stunted the flowering of the plant, which in turn reduced the pods it yielded or the droughts in which the soil could not absorb as much water needed for plantation. Moreover, animals could also be a reason due to the underdeveloped condition of the farmland. The animals intervening the farms may damage the crops feeding upon them. Although, the overdevelopment of county has misconstrued the council about the inattention towards the farmlands.

Secondly, are the opponents firm with their assumption that thee adoption of restrictions on developing pine county which had lead in the hike of housing prices? Can circumstances of Pine county be used to make generalizations or prediction about the Maple county. It is possible that the situation of Pine county before 15 years could be different than now. The vicinity of Pine county was not so developed than now it is, which has shopping complex, museum, fitness center, restaurants, offices, workplace studios or park. This could be a reason for hike in price. Another supporting readon could be the materials used to construct or renovate the residence in the county could be expensive which lead to the hike of price. The current residence might have expensive glossy tiles on floor, or expensive woods used to decorate a living could result in the hike of price. However, the opponents have belied to provide a thorough evidence about the pine county.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on their assumptions. If the author is able to answer the two questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to assume in significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.