The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the passage states that the council predicts that the proposed measure of preventing the development of existing farmland in the county, if passed will result in a significant increase in housing prices in the maple county. this is based on the note that two different countys established similar measures some years ago and it is housing prices have both increased. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, are maple county, chestnut and pine county all roughly comparable? In other words, can the circumstance from one county be used to make generalizations and predictions about other countys? it is possible that these countys are not similar at all. perhaps, chestnut county which established such a similar measure ten years ago is located in a different neighbourhood, maybe a suburban area, whereas maple county is situated in a rural area. Furthermore, perchance the pine county is establised in an area where alot of elites live,hence they can afford to pay rents or even buy houses at such expensice rates, meanwhile the pine is in a province populated by the lower class who can barely pay rent talk more of an increased rent. if the above mentioned scenarios are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is it necessary for the county to worry about the overdevelopment, is there any evidence that shows the county is overdeveloped? does the curtailing of developing exisiting farmlands prevent the developing of new houses? what if maple county will never be faced with this problem of overdevelopment, then her citizens who would have been faced with the limitation of developing existing farmlands perhaps will not have to bother anymore about what would have been in their province. perhaps, even if the cultivation of existing farmlands were limited, maybe developers would have improved bare lands or rather expanded the already existent houses. if the above reasons are true valid, then the original argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, what are the chances that the pricing which catapulted in chestnut and pine countys in the past ten and fifteen years ago will still be the case as compared to the present day in maple county? it is likely that there was an increase in population in chestnut county which brought about the demand in houses and consequently resulted in the increased pricing of houses, on the other hand, maybe maple county is less densely populated as compared to chestnut, therefore there will be no reason to escalate prices.

Futhermore, maybe at the time of building pine county years ago, there was serious economic instability, and this resulted in the increment of house rents or purchase for those interested, meanwhile presently, the economy seems to have stabilized which means the sharp increase in prices is likely than before. if either of the above cases has merit, then the original argument is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. if the author is able to answer the three questions and provide more evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.