The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A memorandum from the owner of movies galore, a chain movie-rental store states that because of the decline in profit, the store will reduce its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD more than five years ago and will also cut its operating hours. However, to properly evaluate the strength of this argument, three questions must be answered.

First of all, will it be reasonable to make generalizations on all the stores based on the location of the downtown store, where closing as early as 6pm will reduce the expenses? Perhaps other stores are situated in places where the most number of customers frequent the rental store after work which is between5p-6pm, in other words the business thrives at such hours when workers are returning home and stop by the rental shop. whereas, the downtown store may be located in a rural area,and is expected to have lesser number of people frequenting the store at the close of business for the day, where the residents just go back home. if this is the case, then this greatly weakens the argument of the store owner.

Secondly, how does cutting down the the overall inventory by no longer stocking the movie store with movies more than five years ago help with the profit? The store owner assumes prematurely, that by no longer stocking the store with old movies will enhance his profit. Perhaps the reason why the shop was

frequently visited,was due to the availability of movies over 5years ago, films such as sound of music, grease 1& 2, merlin, Gossip girl and so on. If the above stated is true, then the argument of the author does not hold water.

Thirdly, does the new policy adopted by all the movie galore stores actually affect the customers or the store itself? Since there are very few customer complaints about this new policy, does that necessarily mean the clients are satisfied with the service rendered them by the store? It is possible that the customers who rent movies from the store are not bothered about the new policy the store has now embraced because there are other rental shops in the neighbourhood where they can actually get quality services. If the above is true, this means that the authors argument is significantly weak.

In conclusion, as it stands now, the argument is considerably flawed, due to the reliance on various unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above by providing more evidence to back up his assumptions, perhaps in the form of a research study, then it will be possible to make a better decision.