Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global environmental damage cannot be overemphasize as it is a major concern in the world today. It is a known fact that human activities contribute greatly to the pollution on the environment . Some environmentalists believe that the government should be responsible for reducing global environmental pollution and not individuals, while, others argue that keeping the surroundings safe is the duty of individuals. I am of think that the government should take ownership and make the climate safe for her citizens to live in, by controlling the use of automobile and ensuring proper waste disposal.

First of all, one of the major reasons for the pollution of the environment is the uncontrolled use of automobiles, as these cars emit gases like carbon monoxide and hydrocarbons when the fossil fuels burn. If individuals can decide to change their lifestyle by cutting down on the use of their personal automobiles and go by public transport, this will enormously reduce emission of these toxic gases. For instance, In Nigeria, nearly every family owns at least two cars, if the government can pass a law, to curtail the use and purchase of cars, that will immensely reduce pollution in the atmosphere.

In addition, the government can play a significant role in ensuring the safety of the environment, by reducing the use of plastic products in our day-to-day life, which is a major contributor to the pollution of the surroundings. For example, when people go shopping at the supermarket, polythene bags are used to pack up the items purchased. most consumers do not dispose these bags properly, as a result they litter the surroundings, Instead of using these plastic bags individuals can opt for eco-friendly substitutes, such as paper bags and reusable material bags, as all these will drastically reduce pollution and prevent blockage of drains overtime due to the improper disposal pattern.

In conclusion, the damage on our climate today is a major concern and the government has a crucial role to play to reduce the harmful activities done by people to the surroundings, by passing laws that govern the use of automobiles and plastic bags.