People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Making a decision is something to ruminate upon as it could have a life time impact. Therefore, in making choices which could be life changing, a person has to be in the right frame of mind. The prompt suggests that people who make decisions based on sentiment and defend the resolution reached afterwards are known as bad choice makers. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the statement that individuals who make decisions based on their present circumstances and rationalize those decisions afterwards are seen as people with poor choices for three reasons.

First of all, as humans being faced with a lot of challenges in our day to day lives, there is a tendency of making some rash decisions, due to the present predicament and later regret such actions. For instance, a 20-year-old girl, who is a fresh man at the university, meets a guy who is also a fresh man, they fall utterly in love with each other due to their definition of love. Sooner than is expected, the young girl and boy tell their families they want to spend the rest of their lives together, simply because they think what they feel for each other is enough to want to settle down as a couple, they eventually get married and realise it was just infatuation and decide to path ways as they can no longer bear each other’s excesses. However, if those fresh year students were more insightful about life, then they would have understood that such a decision was not one to be taken so trivial, hence the need for proper consideration, rather than an ephemeral one, when deciding on an issue that can affect a person. This example illustrates that if a person bases decision on sentiment then the person is likely to get burned.

Secondly, even if we assume that some issues in life require immediate decisions, one has to think deeply before coming to a final conclusion on certain matters. For instance, a boy who studied mechanical engineering and graduated from college applied for jobs in various companies, some of the organizations he applied to were not directly involved in mechanical engineering, but due to his desperate need, he sent his résumé. The boy was offered a job by a non-engineering firm, with a huge salary package and a good position, although not engineering related. Nevertheless, he put the job acceptance on hold, with the hope of being called by one of the engineering firms. He was later invited for a test, he scaled through and was also offered a job with a low-income package and a place which was stressful, inspite of that he took the offer without considering how little the pay was, so he did not put his emotions first by taking a job with more pay which he may likely abhor in due time. Besides, its best to ponder on things and make clear-headed decisions without being hysterical.

Furthermore, majority of the times people have made choices based on sentiment, with logic backing which usually do not turn out in their best interest. What is more, these decisions due to emotions. For example, a woman owned a boutique, where she sold feminine clothing. she never sold clothing on part payment, it always had to be full payment. On one occasion, a customer who is friends with the owner of the shop, came to shop and asked to make half payment and she could not refuse. When it was time to make the remaining payment, the customer claimed the clothes were poor quality and ended up not paying completely for the clothing she took. Obviously, the store owner let her take the items, which was a decision based on her emotions, and the outcome was a negative one.

Finally, it can be inferred that most decisions made based on emotions are poorly analysed, therefore a person needs to look inward rather than outward before making conclusions.