Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument, states that the so-called woven baskets were not uniquely Palean, therefore has come to this conclusion based on the recent discovery of the PALEAn basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the brim river from Palea. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, how possible was it that the people of Palea had no means of croossing the very deep and broad river other than by boat? The author prematurely assumes that the villagers could only go across the river by boat. Nevertheless, this might not be the case. Perhaps, the people of Palea were able to swim across the river to Lithos. Moreover, there are other possible ways which they would have gone across the water, maybe a bridge was constructed to prevent them from entering the water. What is more, there is a possibility that there were times when the tide of the river was low and the inhabitants of Palea were able to go across the river to Lithos. If the above is true,then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, did the villagers of Palea use boats to go from one side of the broad river to the other side? In the write-up, the author presumed that the paleans did not have boats because no boats were spotted in the village by the researchers. Maybe, in the past, the Paleans had boats with which they went across the river to Lithos and over time these boats have disintegrated. Perchance, the team of researchers may have overlooked the possibility of the Paleans having boats to cross over. What if the people of lithos had boats and crossed over to Palea. Furthermore, the boat may have been made of wood, which probably have been used to make camp fire by some campers. If either of these scenarios have merits, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, what if the people of Paleas used the woven baskets in some form of trade with the people of Lithos? In other wordsthe villagers of Palea were using these baskets to trade. Maybe, during this trading, goods were being put into the basket and given to the lithos. Besides, the villagers across, the Lithos people may have been interested in the particularly distinctive pattern of the woven baskets by the dexterious Paleans, hence came over to Palea to purchase the baskets. If the either of the above stated is true, then the argument of the author is weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study, then it will be possible to completely assess the actual origin of the basket.