Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The notion that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean may seem at first glance to be a valid conclusion. At the same time, the argument may seem cogent. Nonetheless, the argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Three reasons would suffice to support my opinion.

To begin with, the arguer assume that the Brim River too dangerous to cross without a boat. Though it is credible, the arguer fails to provide enough evidence to substantiate that assumption. It is hard to deny the possibility that the Brim River was less intensify in ancient time. There would be significant changes with rivers for the geographical factors. Hence, the argument has deficiencies unless the possible scenarios could be efficiently precluded.

At the same time, the arguer incorrectly concluded that Palean people never reached Lithos because the lack evidence of boats. However,it is equally possible that a more convenient way was used to connect two villages. People may build bridge or find other roads which were created by nature. Therefore, more persuasive evidence is demanded to robust the arguer's own perspective.

Finally, even if the assumptions above are true, the arguer still fails to provide any scientific evidence nor anecdotal evidence to prove the reliability of the Lithos’s isolation. It is fair to assume that Palean baskets were achieved by trading or gifted from other village which had a close relationship with Palean. That hypothesis has a considerable possibility to take place in reality.

To sum up, the argument is less persuasive than it seems, for the lack of evidence to assist arguer's assumptions. In order to rule out other possible explanations, it is necessary to glean more correspond information to make the argument more cogent.