.The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The notion that empolying people who sleep less would have higher profit may seem cogent at first glance. Because the study shows the performance of worker with a shorter sleep would act better in some aspects. Nonewithstand, this argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Three reasons would suffice to support that idea.

To begin with, the arguer incorrectly assumes that the sleep with the same period provides the same outcome. Specifically, there are abundance evidence shows the deep sleep could bring more benefits and make people energitic. Therefore, it is equally possible that deep sleep take a more significant place in making sure the extraordinary performing rather than sleep less. This factor may also act as a main cause of faster growth. Hence, the more evidence is needed to preclude that explanation.

Moreover, the arguer fails to claim that sleeping less would bring all good feedback. However, a well performance is decided by many aspects. That survey only provide the evidence of higher profit margins and faster prowth. At the same time,they may become more careless and less energitic. This approach would not bring too much benefits than assumed. The arguer is necessary to glean more information to make sure how their live going in all aspects rather than some specific ones.

Finally, even if the assumtions above are true, the arguer still fails to assume that all people sleep less could perform exceptional. Individuals are different. Employing could not simply depend on the sleep time without concerning working skills and education background. At the same time, a specific people who sleep less may not act as assumption, performing normally or even worse. So judging employing by according sleep time only seems unfair.

To sum up, the argument is less cogent than seems, for the lack of evidence to support assumptions . In order to rule out other explanations, it is essential to collect more information.