14. The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that hiring only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night can make the success of the business. There seems to be some validity at the first glance, but we immediately found out there are several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incomming comments:

The author says that a recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night has a large association to the success of the business. There is an assumption that the 300 people are enough to reveal the results. However, 300 people are too small to make a persuasive statistic. For example, when I did my college project that I had to collected some datas about how many hours for people who played videos game per day. I collected only 250 samples to did my test at the first time, and I did not have a perfect result. My professor told me that it is because my samples are too small. When I collected more data, I eventually got significant results. Thus, it is important to collected more data to do the test.

Even if the datas are enough to reveal the results, that is not to say that the higher profit margins and fater growth are because of people who sleep less than 6 hours per night. There is a supposition that people did their work when they did not go to sleep. Nevertheless, lots of people did not like to work during the leisure hours, and we do not have an evidence that these people sleep less 6 hours because they had the job.

The author says that the business who wants to prosper would have to hire people who only need less 6 hours to sleep. However, even the advertising firms are make lots of profit from these people, we cannot say that others industries will reflect the same result as the advertising firms.

To sum up, the author would have to provide more evidence to make valid assumptions he provided. Without such evidence, we cannot jump to the conclusion that only hiring people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night can make the business successful. All in all, if the author provides more precise evidence and mends the logical mistakes, then the argument will be more persuasive.