The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this argument claims that the number of the shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing due to the increase of the skateboarding. To access the efficacy of the claim, some questions need answers.

The memo states that lots of Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is because of the skateboard users. However, we need more information about this issue. We cannot certainly consider that the decrease in their business is due to the skateboard users. It is possible that people change their predilection, and they did not want to buy the same things all the time. They want to change their favor so they just bought the same things in the other stores. For instance, the customer usually have lots of different clothes from their different favorite stores. We do not know predilection of the customer because they change anytime.

The authors claims that skateboard users left lots of litter and did vandalism in Central Plaza, and it is an important reason which affected the business of store owners. Still, What if the litter and vandalism were not created by skateboard users? It is possible that other people left the garbage and did the vandalism. These activities are easy for anyone to do. For example, these activities can be done by people who went to shop or some people who just passed through there.

Furthermore, the author says that prohibiting the skateboarding can increase the business in Central Plaza. A supposition here is that the author predict that the business is affected by skateboarding. However, what if the skateboarding is not the reason that decreased the business of stores? if it is true, then, this strategy is so weak that the business of stores still cannot increase like before.

The author needs to answer the above questions to strengthen his or her argument.