Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

While some people tend to think that discussing controversial issue with those with contrasting view is not useful, other seem to disagree with it. In my opinion, I believe that we should have a discussion with other people, and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, we can know our mistakes if we discuss with other people. To be specific, if we discuss with them, we can understand what the mistake we have due to the different view. For example, I was a basketball team leader in my college. When I chose the teammate, I wanted to choose my friend, Ken. After my best friend, Alex, told me that I should change the teammate. I realized that I made the mistake.

The second point is that if we discuss with other people, we can have a better decision. For instance, when I was in university, I have a class project with my classmate, Alex. When we discussed the issue about where we can find the best sources, we had different view. He wanted to study by ourselves, such as library or our own computers. However, I wanted to ask lots of people, like professor or other expertise, about our questions. We had different view but we did not change our mind. After the discussion we had, we chose two ways to finished ours project because we thought that it is the best option for us. We eventually got the great score. Thus, I think it is important to discuss the different with people.

True, some people might say that it is not useful to discuss with other people about the controversial topics because we would not change our mind. However, this belief fools to consider the fact that even we would not change our mind, we can still discuss with other people, and let them know what the perspectives we had. They may not change their core beliefs but they must change their action or attitude the next time. Therefore, it is hard to convince people of this idea.

To sum up, with the reasons mentioned above, I think that it is truly important to discuss with different people on different topics. There seems to be some validity to other points of view. However, I still believe that the reasons of my opinion are stronger.