The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author claims that the Super Screen Movie Production Company have to spend money through advertising to public. There seems to some validity at first glance. However, we immediately found out several logical mistakes throughout the whole article. My reasons can be substantiated by the incomming comments:

To begin with, the author says that the recent report indicated that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. However, what if lots of people tend to watch movie through their computer or DVD? Nowadays, lots of people are busy with their work, so they do not have enough time to attend theater. People use their computer to visit some website to buy lots of movies so they do not have to go outside. It is possible that people still watch movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company.

Moreover, the author claims that lots of reviews from people are not reaching enough of their prospective viewers. However, what if these reviews addressed those movies perfectly? Positive reviews increased just because that the movies are worth it. People just wrote down their true feelings.

The author suggests that the company should share of their budget next year to reaching the public through advertising to make people be aware that movies of good quality. Nevertheless, more advertisement cannot make people be aware about the quality of movies. For instance, If people do not watch the whole movie, we cannot understand what the perspective addressed by the movie, and they cannot write the best review.

To sum up, the author have to answer these questions to make valid argument he provided. Without such answers, we cannot jump to the conclusion that the company have to share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.