The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company is concerned about decreased attendance. However, increased advertising may not be the solution to such a problem. The marketing department must answer some questions about source of data in their recent report. Most likely, the production company will need to do further investigation to determine if there are other causes for lower attendence than lack of press. Only after such actions, should the company move forward with the recommendation.

The marketing department's report is worrying and the advertising director needs clarification. Has the department included and considered figures on number of home-theater downloads? Has there been a decrease in the number of theaters showing Super Screen films? It is possible that if downloading the movies is cheaper and more convenient than going to a theater, viewer numbers may in fact be up rather than down. Even with including paid-for downloads, a number of pirated copies may have been viewed as well, thus occluding the true popularity of the films.

Additionally, the advertising direction should ask for elaboration about how the positive reviews were obtained. How such a survey was conducted could be key to the results. For example, if viewers are polled in person just after leaving the theater, more positive reviews may be obtained than if viewers must be particularly disgruntled to complete an online review. If the marketing department has changed their methods of obtaining viewer feedback from one year to the next, results may not be comparable.

Lastly, the production company should question the impact of the theater partners. Super Screen films may have been included in theater promotions which increased the number of theater goers in the past. Or if major movie chains are closing or renovating theaters, there may have actually been less opportunity for in-theater viewing. Thus viewers may have been motivated by factors other than the quality of the film.

The advertising director of Super Screen is ready to take action on declining attendence, but more research is needed. If attendence figures are fallacious and there are issues with the theaters which screen the movies, perhaps the company's best investment is back into the quality of films to continue to increase their positive reviews. Advertising may be moot.