An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The commentator recommends the Tagus government promote a new type of vitamin-A enriched millet to their population. However, before enacting such a recommendation, national decision makers should answer queries regarding administration, dietary habits, and marketing to their citizens before deciding to take action.

In an impoverished nation, will a subsidy issued to farmers make the engineered millet accessible to the general population? The millet is a higher price than its organic cousin, and it is possible that the farmers will not be able to lower the price enough to make it affordable for all. If the grain consumes more water, or requires more labor to harvest, or there are other feasibility aspects to consider, a subsidy may not be enough. Additionally, with other competitors on the market, growers of the new grain may still choose or need to price their product at a level that is too high to be adopted by many citizens. Secondarily, will the distribution of this grain reach everyone, or will transportation and commerce habits prevent it from being widely available? If no, the government may need to address other issues first.

Another factor is marketability of the engineered seed. Will the millet look and taste the same as the natural millet that is available? If it does not, it may not be considered useful for consumption to the same degree as the latter. If there are no obvious differences, or if the grain tastes better or is easier to prepare than the natural grain, it may be purchased at a higher rate than millet has been bought before. Thus there would be no need for the government to promote it. Additionally, some may have a cultural objection to the idea of engineered food. For example, in some developing countries, human waste has been incorporated into charcoal pellets. The pellets emit a fecal oder when burned which is off-putting, and others object simply based on the instinct of keeping human waste away from the home.

Can this grain safely and effectively increase vitamin-A levels to make such an effort worth adoption? Vitamin C effects the absorption of Iron in the body. Calcium cannot be absorbed without an appropriate level of Vitamin D, which is best absorbed from sunlight, rather than food. It would be wise for the Tagus decision makers to consult health-professionals before choosing to introduce vitamin-A via this method. Additionally, it is possible that growth of such a plant may effect the natural ecosystem of the nation, which may effect other vegetation and animals. These are also considerations that could impact the populations diet, and it could be that the millet does more harm than good in the long-term.

The vitamin-A enriched millet sounds like a great solution to a serious problem. However, the Tagus government has the responsibility to ensure the proposal is nutritionally and culturally appropriate to incorporate, and that the higher price does not effect the consumer. Once these questions are answered, the international development organization can be effectively engaged for the betterment of Tagus.