Men and women, because of inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Women and men have inherent physical differences based on hormonal balances, capacity to build muscle, and child-bearing.  This effects the type of physical tasks to which each gender typically is suited.  However, historical social relationships between the sexes has reinforced stereotypes that exagerate the level of these differences.  The claim made specifies "many tasks" and it should be noted that this pertains to physical differences only, not intellectual capacity.

In the days of hunter-gatherers, when infant mortality was high, females spent much of their adult lives being pregnant.  The more children a woman bore, the more that might grow to adulthood and further the family proliferation.  During these early times, a woman might be pregnant for all but a few months of her adult life.  Thus, the males of the household naturally managed tasks that required lifting, running, physical exhertion, or traveling far from home.  This is the basis for many assumptions based on gender differences, although a woman without child might have been able to complete the same activities.

Modern science has overturned many cultural stereotypes about the capacities of men and women, and this is reflected in expectations for each gender.  In the last 15 years, the US Air Force has altered the components of their physical fitness exam.  Women and men are now expected to complete the same amount of push-ups, and cardio fitness is scored on the same scale.  Despite knowledge that both sexes have equal aptitude in many activities, however, historical infrastructure continues to create a divide.  For example, US submarines were designed for only one gender, and to update the internal design to allow female seamen to cohabitat is a costly and time-consuming affair.  Thus the US Navy and marines have delayed the determination that female and male servicemen can perform the same roles.

Physical differences in the past were considered to include mental and emotional capacity of the human brain.  However, this can be traced to the historic role of the woman as child-bearer, meaning that she was occupied with this activity while men were more likely outside the home taking leadership positions in the community.  She obtained the stereotype of "nurturer" and it was assumed the female brain is more geared toward emotions than logic-based activities.

Women and men are different, but not to the extent that social history would have us believe.  As society and science continues to evolve, we may see these differences fade away completely.