Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is possible that at the tender ages of 17 and 18 years of age, some youth enter university without a well informed choice of major, and do not have enough knowledge of their future field to understand how it connects to other areas of knowledge. However, universities should consider the goals of collegiate education before forcing all students to take classes in areas of study in which they have no interest or suitability for. Classroom learning is one element of university education, but another is preparing students to be productive members of the world.

The requirement is likely proposed to help students explore and determine which fields of study for which they are best-suited. This is obviously critical for students who enter university with an undeclared major, in which investigation and exposure to various areas of thought and fields of practice is necessary for them to narrow their interests. The other argument for such a requirement is to provide broadening and context for the studies of a student who has already made himself narrowly focused.

However, there are several cogent counter-arguments to this idea. The first is about the efficiency of university education as it fits into an individual’s life. An individual may be paying off student loans for decades afterwards, with no specific benefit to point to for “general electives.” Compared to areas of Europe and Africa, which students can finish professional school in three years, the American system in particular sets educated individuals at a time and money disadvantage in their careers. Secondly, within certain technical degrees, such as engineering or architecture, students are already required to take so many core courses that to add additional requirements takes away from time to pursue and explore extra-curricular activities.

Most significantly, university administrations should bear in mind the limits to pedagogy. Many students, despite their most earnest efforts for open-mindedness, will not be titillated by courses in areas outside their discipline. Only the school of life may guide them to make changes in discipline. A number of students may enter, due to the influences of family, with careers for medicine or law in mind. Given the years of focused required of each field, perhaps only a midlife crisis will awaken these individuals to the idea that money or prestige cannot provide them satisfaction in their personal lives. Some students have even been advised on admission about the struggles of their given major and potential work, and they dig in their heels for those reasons alone.

It is compelling to consider the university campus as a place of exploration of the mind and spirit. Yet professors and administrators should strongly consider the limits of time and energy on each student, and the limits of influence on a human psyche. Most university educations are only four years of time, a blip compared to the years before and after.