Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Each course that the students take in schools and colleges imparts some new skills in them; for example, if someone takes an English grammar course, then he will learn how to write well, which is a very important skill to have. The prompt recommends that universities should require every student to take courses outside the student’s field of study. I mostly agree with the prompt and will elucidate my position with three reasons.

Firstly, as mentioned in the preceding paragraph, each course opens different opportunities for students, as it provides new skills to students, which he may find useful in his own field of study. For example, if someone is a computer science student, he may find poetry lessons interesting and develops an interest in literature, or he may find interest in music. All these courses improve the general understanding of the student. For example, Richard Feynman likes to play bongs as a measure to reduce stress, and that also sometimes helps him to crack problems that he was stuck at for a long time. So learning a new course broadens the horizon of one’s understanding, and thus one can think in many directions, which ultimately helps him in his own field of study.

Secondly, by learning new courses, the student meets with different field of students and professionals, and learn from them, which not only helps him in his social development but also gives him knowledge of various fields. For example, if engineering students take a course in dramatics. He may learn about a totally different profession, which requires a lot of creativity and cooperation. By meeting people associated with such a profession, he or she will learn a great deal about human connections. And that made him socially more aware when he sees a profession with different eyes.

Lastly, one may argue that if students take courses other than their field of study, then they will not give ample amount of time to their own field, which might cost them later. As the world is competitive, if someone from a commerce background does not give enough time to master the subjects related to commerce as he took other courses, he may not be able to get the jobs as others might have better knowledge about the core subject than him. So the courses that one takes should depend on student so that they can judge for themselves that how much time they can afford for other courses.

In conclusion, the choice of taking a variety of courses should be given to students themselves rather than forcing them. And universities should encourage students to take such courses by providing orientation classes, if some student finds interest in them, he can take it.