Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today’s day and age where knowledge and information is no longer confined to formal classes and libraries, one is not heavily dependent on the formal education set up like schools and colleges. The prompt suggest that formal education tends to restrain our mind and spirits; I mostly agree with the prompt and will elaborate my stand with three reasons.

Firstly, formal structure of education, which was laid centuries back, is not that relevant in present time, since the evolution of digital age, one has access to abundant information, available about any topic of interest. The whole concept of formal education is technically flawed as it is based on curriculum and the whole point of curriculum is to restrict the amount of knowledge one should get at a particular age or class. However, there is no restriction to human affinity to learn. For example, the great mathematician S. Ramanujan has no formal education whatsoever, but still his great eagerness and passion to learn mathematics allowed him to discover so much in that field, that many who were consider as great academicians of the time were baffled by his pure genius. He was able to make so much contribution because his mind is not limited or corrupted by the restrictions posed by the formal education setup. So if one find passion in learning something and becoming better at it, there is no necessity of formal education.

Secondly, the formal education curbs the mind ability to think freely and destroy the authentic creativity. This is evident from well documented research where adult and children are tested based on their cognitive thinking abilities, results shows that children can produce far more ideas than adult for a particular problem because there mind is not fixed to think in only few limited direction. For instance, the noble laureate John Nash did not attend any classes during his post doctorate at University of Princeton, in pursuit of completely original idea which will not achievable with the formal structure of education provided there. As a result he was successfully find the original idea and presented it with his 28 pages PhD thesis, later for which he was awarded the noble prize in economics. This shows that the great minds are ones that has complete freedom to learn in subjects in which they are interested in, rather than burdened by the fixated nature of formal education they get from schools and colleges.

Lastly, one can argue that without formal education how one can survive, as it leads to job. In today’s competitive world, a formal college or school degree is necessary to get a job. One cannot solely depend on one’s interest or passion; they also need to focus on those lucrative career options that make their living. And also not everyone realize their passion early and for them formal education is good way to realize in which field they are interested. So one cannot completely ignores the role of formal education in one’s development.

In conclusion, for some people formal education is necessary as they may be interested or satisfied in getting the good fruits that they can get by performing well in the restricted formal education set up and really doesn’t care about the freeness of mind or spirit. And for others, it might be a limiting as it restricts them to think and feel freely. So the role of formal education in one’s mind or spirit is subjective.