Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Competition is seen by some as a sign of motivating students whereas other see it unwanted pressure on students with no substantial outcome. Indisputably, competition helps students is remaining determined and focused on studies. Nonetheless, there are several negative effects like academics pressure and superficial knowledge. Thus, according to me, I agree with the given prompt as it leads to just bookish knowledge.

First of all, quality of learning is depended on how well a student is able to grasp concepts and is the student able to apply the same on day to day life. But the situation today is really disheartening, students are in constant race to acquire more marks. They focus less on learning the concept and concentrate more on scoring high grades.The point worth noting is that such grades are not beneficial for the student as well as for the growth and development of the nation. For example, a top grade student of computer engineering grabs an opportunity to work on a top company dealing with software development. The company expects the student to be aware of the terms and basic applications of software development as he had scored a A+ grade in the university exams. But the harsh reality is that the student has just mugged up the course and not developed a proper understanding of the concept. This leads to the student not understanding the project discussed in the company and poor performance of the student. This example shows us how the rote memorisation can not help us in the long run.

Moreover, in order to stand first in the race of scoring high grades students usually study the entire night before examination and then give the examination the next day. It is very likely that the student will not remember the concepts after giving the examination. This kind of learning will not lead to any substantial growth in the student. The teachers are also found sometime focusing on the rote system , they fail to realise that concepts learnt through application retains longer and better. Students to get a high paying job and get into top class universities are usually found in a mess when they just study for grades. To illustrate, a bio-technology student might end up scoring high at school level and is able to get into a world ranking university. On arriving at the university the student realises that the entire first semester is based on the school level concepts applications and projects. The student not having focused on these concept at school level suffers a lot. The student has to go through the entire school level knowledge again and is unable to balance assignments and school concepts revision at one time. This results in the student performing disastrously in the first semester. The example shows that one might reach the top through rote system but will be unable to sustain there.

Admittedly, competition is important for keeping students focused and appreciating the hard working students. This is specially true as there are many studies which proof that students perform better when they are placed in a competitive environment. But, is it logical for a student to just focus on grades rather than grasping knowledge.It is essential for students to learn the concepts in depth . So that they can apply the concepts in future and be an essential asset in development and growth of the nation.

In conclusion, competition is important but only till the stage that it helps students in also grasping the concept. Otherwise, the knowledge will remain, filmy and weak and will not help student in applying them in the real world.