The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument concludes that introduction of trout: an animal that eats amphibian eggs is the sole cause for the decline and extinction of species of amphibians in the Xanadu National Park. The editor bolsters his claim by further stating that global air pollution and water pollution did not cause the decline. It was the introduction of perilous species- trouts which caused the decline. The argument though seems quite convincing at first glance, but on closer consideration, one can see the entire argument is rift with assumptions for which no substantial evidence has been provided.

The main evidence which would help us to evaluate the sole cause of the decline of amphibians is the correlation between trout eating habits and the decline of amphibians. The argument readily assumes trout to be the main reason though no substantial reason has been provided. If we were to learn the evidence that the population of trout introduced was very small in proportion to the harm caused to the amphibians and with their low fertility rate they could not take down the entire species of amphibians. In this case, the argument is weakened and would require to re-consider its reasons. There is also a probability that most of the trouts introduced were killed or died as they were unable to survive in the new environment; thereby, dismissing the entire claim. To back up his claim, the author needs to present a researched study about previous cases in which the introduction of trout caused harm or a detailed analysis of the present scenario.

In addition to this, evidences needs to be provided based on which the global air pollution and water pollution have been refuted as a factor contributing to the decline of amphibians. If we were to discover pieces of evidence claiming that the pollution of water where the amphibians inhabited was having an extreme level of toxins and chemicals making the water unfit for the survival of amphibians. This has led to the accumulation of deleterious chemicals in amphibians which ultimately lead to their death. According to this possibility, the argument would be wrong at discarding an integral factor from the scenario. Had, the argument cogently stated the test results of the water samples collected from the national wildlife the claim would have substantial proof to back up its claim.

Moreover, the editor has only considered two factors global air and water pollution and trouts for the decline in amphibians. Out of which, he hastily repudiates global pollution as a cause and places the entire burden on trouts. Nonetheless, there can be various other reasons like the presence of predators who kill amphibians for their eggs and scales to earn a hefty amount of money in the black market. The main reason could also have been that the species of amphibians were unable to survive in their new habitat maybe because of climate issues or absence of their food source which led to a slow decline of their race. The author needs to dwell deeper and take into consideration the other issues which might be significant in the decline of the amphibians.

To sum up, the author claim might have certain merits but stated in this way it fails to make a solid case. The author needs to cogently state the relationship between the introduction of trouts and how they led to the decline of species of amphibians. He also needs to evaluate other factors like predators and present concrete evidence that global pollution plays no role. Without answers to these questions, the argument can not be relied and trouts can not be considered the only cause.