In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout which are known to eat amphibian eggs were introduced into the park.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that the primary reason for the decrease in amphibians is the presence of trout in the National Park in 1975. The editor comes to this conclusion based on several premises, which, if correct, could indicate that the argument holds water. As it stands now, however, the mentioned implications from the editor of the magazine rest on three unwarranted assumptions that hinder the argument's credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that the 1975 census was conducted scientifically. But this might not be the case. Perhaps it was done by some junior students whose final scores were not at all dependent on this census, and in turn, they did not put in enough effort to conduct it well. In addition, it is possible that, at the time, there were not enough experienced scholars in this field to create well-designed research with regard to the depletion of amphibians. If either scenario above proves true, the author’s argument that trout plays a prominent role in the disappearance of amphibians is not persuasive.

Moreover, the editor presumes that a species being observable is indicative of its numbers. For example, if we cannot spot any number of amphibians at a specific time of the year, the reason might underlie that time of the year; amphibians hiding somewhere else. Or even they could be foraging in places that are hard to go and examine whether some of them could be found or not. If it is true that not being truly visible inevitably does not amount to the depletion of that species, then the author’s contention is significantly hampered.

Finally, the author makes the assumption that the trout and amphibians lived in the same environment in the National Park. Conceivably, there is a chance that these two species are separated in order to preserve the amphibians from the trout, since they are said to be the prayer of amphibians' eggs. In addition to this, the introduction of trout in 1975 could be only one of the many other factors of the diminishing numbers of amphibians, like birds or other animals. If that proves correct, then the editor’s argument is not overly compelling.

To conclude, although the author's central claim might be convincing, indicating the only reason for the amphibians' decline is the introduction of trout is incorrect. And the author needs to consider the above three alternate explanations if he/she hopes to bolster its persuasiveness.