The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout — which are known to eat amphibian eggs — were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

he author of the letter argues that although there has been a substantial decline in the number of amphibians worldwide due to global air and water pollution, the decrease in the Xanadu National Park has a different cause. Stated in this way the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and fails to mentions several key factors and evidence on which the argument can be evaluated. To support the conclusion, the author attributes the decline in the ambhibians in Xanadu National Park to the introduction of amphibian egg eating trouts. However carefull scrutiny of the evidence reveals that the arugement is unsubstantiated and unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author readily assumes that there has been a steady decline of amphibians from 1975 to 2002 due to introduction of trouts in 1975. However, it is possible that the decline started in very recent years. For example, the global pollution of water and air in the recent years could be the cause of the decline. The argument would be more convincing to reader if it explicitly stated when this decline was first observed between 1975 to 2002.

The author assumes that the trouts ate the amphibian eggs due to which the population of ambhibians declined. However, careful scrutiny of this claim fails to demonstrate any direct correlation between the introduction of trouts and the decline in amphibians. It is possible that the trouts that were intoduced were in lot less numbers as compared to the total population of ambhibians and at the same time there could be various other reasons for the decline. The author should provide further evidence and information about the changes in Xanadu National Park that happened after 1975 to better evaluate the reason for the decline.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the trouts introduced in 1975 survived throughout the time period. It is possible that the trouts died after they were introduced in the park. If this case is true then the trouts will not be the cause for the decline in amphibians.

Thus, the argument of the author as it stands in unpersuasive. The claims made by the author to support the conclusion seem more of wishfull thinking than substantive evidence. To bolster the argument, the author should provide a deeper analysis of causes for the decline in population of amphibians.