Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue that the judgment of a work has value only if it comes from someone who is a expert in that field. Indisputably, experts have more knowledge and are seasoned to the nuances of their fields of work and they are capable of using this experience to provide a better critical judgement of a work. Nevertheless, a judgement from an expert does not bring forth all the aspects of a work into consideration, aspects which would be of more relevance to nonspecialist. Thus, I would disagree that judgement of work only has value if it is done by an expert and would argue that judgement from all types of people can bring more value to the table.

First of all, in a type of work which is generally made for the broader audience, where everyone has the freedom to construe a meaning from the work, I would like to point out that, judgement from someone who is not a expert can put forth a viewpoint which represents the views of broader audience. For example, in case of movies, when the experts judge it, they will generally take all points in consideration for eg. the plot, direction, acting etc. While these judgements could be constructive to the director, it may not help the general audience. Similarly, a judgement from someone in the audience may judge that movie in the terms of how the movie was relatable for everyone. This judgement will bring a lot of value to the director and producer as well.

Admittedly, in some cases only the judgment from the expert will be of maximum value. Especially in cases such as scientific research, a person who is not expert in the field will not be able to critically judge the work and may provide inputs of little value. In addition, a expert of the field will be able provide constructive criticism of the work and could provide changes or suggestions that could further improve the work. However, the above arugment does not constitute enough evidence to generalize the statement that critical judgement of a work has little value if unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Hence, although in some cases only the expert in the field can provide valid judgement for a work, in most of the cases a judgement from people of various streams and walks of life will bring in more value that a judgment from an expert. As long as the further measurements in more specific areas are not made, the conclusion still stands.