There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether society should make great efforts at the expense of money and jobs to save endangered animals and plant species. Indisputably, the work required to conserve animal and plant species is extensive. It invloves a lot of mental as well as physical energy. Nevertheless, it is of primary importance for every society to to make as much effort as possible to save endangered animals and plant species. Hence, I disagree with the statement and would like to counter it with the following two reasons.

First of all, humans have roots in nature. We were born from it and that is exactly why we call earth, "mother". Previously, humans lived in harmony with nature but after industralization we have started to exploit nature for our advantage while ignoring the harmful long term effects it may cause. To illustrate, humans are cutting down forests for all the resources it provides like wood, medicine, food etc. This deforesttation causes the animals living in its habitat to loose their homes. They are displaced from their origins and hence their numbers start to dwindle. This indirectly affects the ecology of forests and we unknowingly or in some cases knowingly are depriving ourselves of future resources. In these circumstances, obviously humans should stop exploiting nature and understand its value. Hence, we should avoid any further damage to the nature and make extraordinary efforts to save the endangered animals and species.

Furthermore, is money more important than nature? Money can come and go, but lost resources of nature such as animals and plants cannot be recovered by any means. For the maximum life span of earth and human history, we have coexisted with animals and plants and thats how we have survived for so long. For example, my generation only got to saw the Dodo in textbooks pictures. There are many such animals and plants about whom we can only talk about now and whose importance we would never know, because they were lost forever due to neglect of human societies in putting effort to conserve and save them.

Admittedly, the conservation of endangered species requires extraordinary effort and well as resources such as money and time. In addition, not all people understand the importance of conservation and cause a hurdle to such efforts. However, such hinderences have low importance if compared to the problem in hand.

In conclusion, although it may seem that spending money and time in saving endangered species is futile or that it has little justification, deeper analysis of the problem and by understanding the relationship that humans and nature share together, one can easily justify any costs that would be incurred in efforts to save endangered plants and animals.