There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts especially at a great cost in money and jobs to save endangered animal or plant species

The biodiversity of natural landscapes behold exquisite flora and fauna that augment the aesthetic beauty of these places. However, rapid urbanisation and construction to bring about ease of access, and poaching activities due to the ever-increasing human greed has led to severe detrimental effects on these places of natural beauty, which manifest themselves in the lives of its inhabitants. The prompt questions as to whether investing significant efforts to secure the lives of endangered species is justified at all. In my opinion, adequate measures should be taken to prevent further loss of biodiversity. These should serve to protect the endangered species from all threats, deliberate or inadvertent alike.

Endangered species, often on the brink of extinction, are an important ecological factor that governs the balance of the food chain. Whether they are the predator or the prey, their extinction might lead to overabundance or account to even loss of other species. For example, the indiscriminate poaching of certain rhinoceros, owing to the pricelessness of their horns, might lead to dearth of food for lions inhabiting those grasslands. Such ecological disbalances would cause the lion to search for easier sources of food, and eventually they might turn towards humans, becoming man-eaters in the process. Eventually, as the boundaries between the wild and the urban gets disturbed, significant damage to life and property may happen. Such a scenario can easily be averted if stringent measures are in place to protect the rhinos in the first place, thereby maintaining the balance of the natural food chain.

Furthermore, certain species of plants and animals encourage wildlife tourism. If such species are not protected at the grass-roots level, they might turn out to be endangered sooner or later. This would inevitably lead to loss of economic prospects that such tourism entails. For example, people throng to visit the Sunderbans to catch a glimpse of the Royal Bengal Tiger. The population of these Tigers started to plummet owing to several factors, a few years ago. Several campaigns were organized to raise the awareness of the indigenous people and prevent any further loss. Forrest officials were asked to keep a keen eye for poaching activities and prosecute those involved. Such efforts led to an eventual increase in the Tiger's population and resulted in direct economic prospects of the Sunderbans.

Arguably the costs and efforts required to engage in such activities are quite humongous. Identifying strategic keyholders which determine which class of species be deemed as endangered also requires meticulous study of diverse populations. Furthermore, root cause analysis of why the species has become endangered in order to provide a remedial course of action requires perseverence and decades of study. However, such investments are quite insignificant considering the long term ecological, societal and economic impacts that loss of endangered species entails in.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the statement that out efforts to save endagered species of plants and animals are unjustified. Since flora and fauna present in diverse ecological habitats serve to maintain the ecological balance, instances whether predators such as tigers or lions prey on humans are averted. A loss of a single species might lead to increase or even decrease in population of subsequent species, creating a ripple effect on the overall natural scope of beings. Furthermore, tourism prospects of a nation might suffer significantly leading to long term adverse economic impacts. Hence, it is prudent to spend resources when a potential problem is identified rather than scurrying for a cure when the problem has arrived and thus, all efforts to protect endangered species, no matter how arduous they seem, stand justified.