The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten year budget for the city of Calatrava The birthrate in our city is declining in fact last year s birthrate was only one half that of five years ago Thus the number of students e

The author argues that since birthrate is on a steady decrease in the city of Calatrava, budget allocation should be more focussed towards city facilities and programs which are primarily used by adults, rather than educational and recreational facilities since the number of youths is likely to decrease during the next decade. However, in doing so, the author inadvertently makes a few assumptions, which if turns out to be improper, dampens the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, the author presumes that since over the last five years, birthrate has reduced to one-half, it will remain doing so for the next decade. It is possible that the former half of the decade witnessed a steady decline in the birthdate owing to neonatal fatalities or a widespread disease which is more likely to affect children than adults. If a remedy for such a disease or the exact cause of neonatal fatalities is ascertained by this point of time, then the next decade is more likely to witness a steady increase in the birthrate and under such circumstances, the author’s speculation does not hold water.

Secondly, the author makes a direct connection between students enrolled in educational or athletic activities with the birthrate. Even if the birthrate is on a steady decline, such a direct connection might turn out to be overly presumptuous since no evidence on the rate of literacy in the city of Calatrava is put forth. It might be such that even though birthrate is less, the overall statistics involving students enrolled in education remains same or even steadily increases in the next decade. This can result from a larger number of students getting enrolled in educational institutions and taking part in athletic activities than previous years, even though birthrate declines. It is improper to assume that all children taking birth during a period of time will enrol in educational or athletic activities. In such a scenario, the author’s suggestion to reduce budget allocated for infrastructure development of educational institutions and recreational fields will serve to be detrimental.

Furthermore, the author assumes that more budget should be allocated to city facilities and programs that are primarily used by adults since an increase in the adult population is expected in the coming years. However, no evidence supporting this has been put forth. The inclination of adults towards attending such facilities or programs might not be sufficient to warrant such a change in budget allocation. Moreover, if the steady decrease in birthrate is related to migration or movement of people out of the city of Calatrava then the number of adults is likely to decline as well and hence the author’s conclusion that the adult population is likely to increase can be erroneous.

In conclusion, it is possible that the steady decline in birthrate will continue in the upcoming decade and that diverting budget from education and recreational facilities for youths towards city facilities and programs for adults is fruitful. However, as it stands now, the argument relies on few unfounded assumptions made by the author that render it unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide additional evidence regarding the cause of decline in birthrate and the likelihood of such a trend in the upcoming years, the correlation between the birthrate and the number of students enrolling for educational and athletic activities, and the potential of funding more city facilities and programs for adults in order to further his argument.