Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas trends and concepts that help explain those facts Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reason

While facts are always the most important factor determining the conclusiveness of certain hypotheses or ideas, it stands debatable as to when should these facts be presented, as evidence supporting the ideas, in order to maximise its efficacy. Educators are often posed with this dilemma as to whether they should present the facts, while introducing and discussing the ideas and concepts or after the students are well adept in the concerned topics. The next few paragraphs will enumerate numerous examples how facts serve to consolidate ideas better when they are presented along with the ideas.

Let us first consider the case of world history. The relevance of World War II and its impact at an international level is well understood and documented in literature. However, when the students are taught only the radical ideas that were prevalent during the time, which eventually lead to several humanitarian crisis across the globe, it is sufficient to say that these will not adequately suggest the extent of such radicalism. Only when they are presented with facts such as the holocaust of Jews and the discrimination met out to those of the Jewish community, the students are able to gather the notoriety of the events.

Furthermore, even in scientific studies, facts often determine whether an idea is erroneous or conclusively evident. Often, teachers prefer to introduce the erroneous idea first to whet the interest of the students to come up with the fallacy of that idea. However, in order to proceed to the correction, the teacher presents the argument on which the previous idea or hypothesis was proven to be flawed. A related example is the evolution of the atomic model over time. The fact that the atom consists of a consolidated centre comprising of protons and neutrons while the electrons revolve around this in elliptical orbits was conceived through several trials and errors in history. The first model conceived was the Plum and Pudding model of atomic structure. Pertinent to this are facts that eventually proved this model to be flawed and when these facts are presented to students along with the ideas that followed, it serves to direct the students’ thoughts towards highlighting key moments rather than simply remembering or memorizing that such and such ideas are flawed while the others are true.

However, there are some cases where certain ideas are not mature enough to be classified as either flawed or correct. In such cases, there are not adequate evidence or facts to support the fidelity of an idea. Under such scenarios, educators may defer the citation of facts until a later date when they discuss the evidences which may support or contradict a hypothesis which has not been proven till date. An example of such kind of an idea is the Collatz Conjecture, which suggests that any positive integer will always end up in a 1-2-4 loop when certain calculations are performed on it. Such a conjecture is a math problem which has been troubling mathematicians for decades since no computer yet developed can possibly calculate the problem’s result for all positive integers which extends infinitely.

In conclusion, it can be seen that under certain provisos, such as where facts are not adequate to conclusively corroborate an idea, educators may choose to present them after the students are well versed in those concepts. However, whenever substantial amount of evidence is available at the time the idea is discussed or introduced, it serves best to substantiate such ideas with facts which enable students to correlate the ideas and facts rather than simply memorizing and segmenting their lessons as “True” or “False”. This helps in interactive learning and also develops a sense of insight amongst the students which eventually leads to better thinking ability and also helps them in learning both the historical aspects that is relevant to an idea.