The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees we need to encourage our residents to recycle more Late last year our neighboring town Hayesworth passed

The author proposes to implement an advertising campaign encouraging the residents of Masontown to recycle. He cites the example of their neighbouring town, Hayesworth, which passed a law late last year requiring all households to recycle paper and glass, otherwise pay a fine. Hayesworth has since seen a decline in its garbage disposal costs. However, the author's proposition stands unpersuasive based on several unanswered questions.

First, considering that Hayesworth's passing of the law was in direct relation to a decline in garbage and consequently resulted in a decline of the disposal costs, the author fails to answer the question of how much garbage of Masontown is contributed by paper and glass, both of which can be recycled. If the majority of Masontown garbage comprises of glass and paper then it stands justified to encourage recycling of such components. However, if garbage mostly comprises of pharmaceutical wastes or other biodegradable wastes, then such a plan of action is not likely to yield significant decrease in the municipal garbage disposal fees. From a broader perspective, how much similar are municipal garbages of Masontown and Hayesworth needs to be answered to compare whether the law passed in Hayesworth would be similarly beneficial to Masontown.

Second, the passage of the law by Hayesworth authorities doesn't necessarily mean that its residents are actually following the law. What might happen is that the fine imposed might counteract the effects of the increasing disposal costs and hence Hayesworth's net garbage disposal costs have gone down since passage of the law. A question that needs to be answered in this respect is whether the majority of the neighboring town actually abides by the law. Unless such adherence to the law is evidenced, the campaign of encouraging the residents of Masontown might not be effective in changing their behavior.

Furthermore, the law was passed by Hayesworth is late last year. Considering that not much time has passed since the law was actually passed, the assertion that Hayesworth has seen a decline in its garbage disposal costs stands on weak ground. Such a change might be transient in that because the law is comparatively new, people are more inclined towards abiding it but in the long run the law might not prove to be so much enforced in the town so as to bring about substantial results. Also, how does the law directly result in a change in people's behavior and leads to a decrease in the garbage disposal costs is nowhere establised. It might be that the Hayesworth authorities have invested in a new machine which reduces the costs effectively. Unless a direct relation is found out, the authenticity of the author's claims stands unpersuasive.

In conclusion, it may be true that the law passed in Hayesworth has directly resulted in recycling of paper and glass and has led to a significant decline in its garbage disposal costs. It may also be true that similar campaigns in Masontown, encouraging its residents to recycle would enable it to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees. However, as it stands now, questions pertaining to how much similar are municipal garbage wastes of Hayesworth and Masontown in terms of paper and glass, whether the law is actually abided by the residents of Hayesworth, and whether the observations are credible enough given the short span of time that has passed since the law was passed, needs to be answered. Furthermore, how the law directly resulted in reduction of municipal wastes also needs to be ascertained in order to evaluate the author's proposition of organizing advertising campaigns to encourgae the citizens of Masontown to recycle.