Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting your position y

In today's society, leadership skills are most valued as they cater to finding relevant solutions to the most persistent problems faced by the people. While leaders are often characterised by their ability to concede to the demands placed on them, a more suitable definition of a leader would be an individual who prioritises the interest of his or her subordinates before his own - an epitome of selflessness. The prompt suggests that leaders are created by demanding situations. Arguably, while such cases depict how a leader responds and his leadership abilities, it does not necessarily highlight the key traits that make him stand out amidst the crowd.

In order to further the argument that leadership skills are more intrinsic rather than caused by situations, it would be appropriate to cite the example of Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi, otherwise known as Mahatma Gandhi. Early India was marked by British colonialism and an imperious regime of the British monarchy. Towards the early 20th century, several factors such as the Second World War and resulting impoverishment of Indian natives led to growing discontent and the Indian Independence movement. Mahatma Gandhi was an evident proponent of the cause and as such displayed leadership abilities which united the people. However, what stands out as a key trait is his belief in non-violence. While his contemporaries, albeit great leaders too, took to arms to display their anger, Gandhi was vocal of a non-violent approach. As such because of his ideas of tolerance and his contribution to achieving Independence, he is often referred to as the Founding Father of India. Such key personality traits often lead the people in ways that are more subtle than others and helps in achieving outstanding results. While many situations might be demanding, the ability of an individual to inculcate amongst people his own belief serves to establish his leadership skills.

Furthermore, today's generations often attributes individuals the mantle of a "leader" based on his ability to resolve disputes in a nonpartisan way and mantain a cordial relationship with both parties involved. Such leadership skills are most evident of the individual's innate beliefs, his progressive personality and his understanding of complex situations. Predominant in the corporate industries, managers roles are often characterised by his leadership skills. As such, pertinent training is often given to develop abilities that help in the day-to-day work of an organization. One leadership skill that is most often talked about in such environments is "conflict management" which aims to resolve disputes and settle personal grievances of employees keeping in mind the overall impact such disputes have on the organization. However, even with substantial training, it is seen the managers with personal biases, prejudices are often inclined to take on the side which is more aligned to his beliefs. This serves to show that a manager, who is flawed in his innate beliefs, can not be taught or expected to respond appropriately to demanding situations due to constraints placed on his personality.

Indisputably, demanding situations often bring out the best in a person. Leaders have been shown to motivate people towards achieving goals, previously thought to be impossible. One such example from history is the war between 300 spartans and the whole Persian army, led by Leonidas of Sparta. Initially thought to be an improbable goal, the Spartans were successful is thwarting repeated attacks by Persian forces untill they were deceived by their own, who revealed a strategic location which could not be secured by the Spartans. However, in this aspect as well, it was Leonidas's belief in his capabilities that united the 300 Spartans who were almost victorious in their efforts.

In conclusion, the fact the demanding situations often bring out leaders amidst common people are not flawed. However, the leadership abilities of a person are the key factors that make him stand out amidst a crowd. Therefore, though the relation between leaders and demands exist, the latter does not necessitate the making of the former. A leader is deemed so, based on his abilities to resolve disputes, unite his subordinates and to lead people towards achieving goals. Some of these might be most evident during times of duress, nevertheless, even with substantial training an individual who is inclined to personal biases and prejudices can not be deemed a "leader"