A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim a

Society today is marked by increased incidences of crimininal activities, pervading through people of all age. While juveniles are behaviorally more inclined towards extremism, brainwashed to believe preachings which are otherwise detrimental to humanity, there are several adults who willingly admit to crimes of vicious nature. The prompt questions whether a person who willingly commits a crime should still be entitled to his civil rights or the rights to benefit from own labor. In my opinion, the claim is cursory in that it does not take into account the circumstances or the personality traits that often compel an individual to take an antisocial path. Furthermore, every individual should be entitled to correct his wrong, and eradicating an individual's social rights shuts off directly the path to do so.

An increase in massive shootings at schools, throughout the globe shows how often the prevalent societal conditions around an individual shape his personality. A child who is racially or physically abused at school, often finds his bullies intolerable and as such when proper gun control measures are not in place, takes up arms against his peers. Parental control often serves to mitigate such behavioral traits developing early on during childhood. However, even with such measures in place, the other inherent characteristics of the child, such as an introvert nature or too much exposure to violent television programs, play a paramount role in creating a behavioral change. However, if such an individual, having broken the societal laws, is stripped off his civil and social rights, then it is tantamount to closing all avenues whereby the individual can correct his wrongdoing and start off afresh in a path of righteousness.

Other criminal activities such as theft or larceny often stems from societal adversities that individuals face. A person deep into poverty may see no other method to survive than to steal money or other belongings. While such crimes do not significantly cause loss of lives, it can cause security issues in a society where people fail to trust each other. Repeated accounts of thefts in a particular community leads to discontent with the authorities and other social issues. As much as crime in itself, people suffering from poverty and indigence arising out global scenarios such as recession, often resort to such practices to sustain their daily life. However, often such people are the first ones to let go of such activities once their situation becomes better and hence, based on the claim, if such individuals no longer retain their civil rights to benefit from their earnest labor then any chance of allowing them to find jobs, that would otherwise prevent such crimes, is effectively eradicated.

Indisputably, certain crimes are well planned by individuals in a meticulous and shrewd way. Such individuals are characterised by traits that often arise due to psychological changes in their way of thinking. Accounts of planned murder, serial killing, drug trafficking, human trafficking or vengeful activities such gang wars often serve to show how people can be vicious at times. Such individuals should be punished as per the societal laws prevalent globally to a maximum degree. However, once these punishments are served, which often involve long prison sentences, such people should be encouraged to take on an earnest approach to livelihood.

In conclusion, the claim does not differentiate between petty thefts or serious crimes such as murder. It considers a singular approach tomards taking away the civil rights of criminals.