Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

An elected government serves to protect the interests of the people and propose policies which are likely to improve the overall socio-economic standard of the people. Having said that, this does not necessitate the government to carry out the will of the people unquestionably. “Government officials” should be prudent in deciding whether to rely on their own judgement or whether to follow people’s opinion on matters of interest. The following paragraphs serve to shed light on how such judgement proves beneficial or sometimes adverse in shaping up a nation or a region.

While immediate concerns such as health and economic disparity requires prioritized agenda which targets the root cause and follows a remedial method based on general consensus, ideas that bring radical changes in the socio-economic conditions require more of a dauntless approach, which does not always get adequate support from the people. For example, the decision of the Indian government to reduce the amount of subsidy for LPG cylinders was met with widespread criticism by opposition parties and general public alike. However, with time it became clear that the such a drastic measure eventually led to a more judicious use of cooking gas in households owing to the rising costs. Also, the loss of revenue from the government treasury, related to this subsidy, that was predominant in the earlier years, was significantly lowered and this additional amount of money was used to enable an increased number of cooking gas connections to even remote rural areas. This example serves to show how the government’s judgement, contrary to the will of a significant portion of the population, served to benefit the nation.

A more important watershed moment in the positioning of India as a global power was its development of nuclear energy. The dauntless efforts for APJ Adbul Kalam and the then Prime Minister, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, led to the nuclear tests at Pokhran which consequently in the years to follow, consolidated India’s security and positioned its economy as a nation with nuclear power capabilities. Even though, now it is regarded as one of the key developments in Indian history, at that time, such a decision was met with criticism globally, with even sanctions being placed on India at the global level. Thus, we see that not always the will of the people serve to benefit the nation as much as a government’s own judgement in taking a nation forward.

In some aspects, the will of the people is also important in deciding whether a government should pursue a given course of action. For example, the state government of West Bengal, in a certain part of India, had allocated agricultural land to a certain automotive company, in the hope that this would usher a new phase of industrialization and employment in the region. However, the people whose land was allotted was not sufficiently compensated. This led to widespread protests and police brutality in the region which eventually compelled the company to cancel its plan to construct a facility there. Hence, while making decisions based on the government’s judgement, it should meticulously consider the pros and cons of its actions and whether such actions will prove to be beneficial or detrimental to the people.

In conclusion, based on the evidences presented here, government’s should be prudent in using their judgements insofar as their actions does not significantly hamper the people’s living conditions and also are targeted towards developing the overall condition of the people involved. These can be nation building decisions which are more likely to be perceivable over long time rather than have immediate impact on people. However, while relying on their judgement, they should carefully consider the reasons as to why the public opinion is not in their favor, weigh out the pros and cons of their actions, and whether their actions are likely to have immediate detrimental effect on the people.