Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A lot of things are require for the successful leadership of a government official. While it is necessary for public officials to rely on their judgment when combating quandaries, it is also pertinent for these officials to abdicate to the will of the people whom they serve. However, extraneous submission and reliance on one’s judgment is detrimental. Hence, public leaders should exhibit these qualities moderately in order to avoid bad governance.

To begin with, a government official depending on his judgment while facing enigmas limns competency. It shows that the leader is capable of solving problems individually. Barrack Obama leading the Americans to victory against Osama Bin Laden without public opinions denotes Obama’s leadership dexterity. However, too much of this act is highly detrimental the official’s image as it makes the official to be seen as a despot. A public official, who wields excessive judgment, mostly passess rules that inconvenients the citizens. These officials, who refuses public opinions every time, turns out to become the enemy of the people he serves.

On the flip side, government officials abdicating to the will of the people leads to effective government. This is because these leaders, who takes into consideration the people’s grieve, channels their activities towards satisfying the people. Thus, increasing transparency, efficacy in government, accountability and trustworthy. However, too much submission makes the official more predictable and more credulous. The upshot of this is that these officials, who pays most attention to people’s gripe, unwittingly becomes vulnerable to the public and to the adversaries. Hence, the leader will be easily swayed into engaging in bad activities.

Notwithstanding, some well-learned individuals might cavil that it is necessary for leaders to rely on their own judgment as this reliance leads to fast action, prevents unnecessary and incompetent opinions. This is true to some extent. But we also need to put into consideration, the leader’s competency. It is grotesque to expect a regent with humanity background to independently take decisions in science-related quagmires. Also, it is ludicrous to expect a ruler with no knowledge in technology to single-handedly decided for tech savvies. Apart from this, we risk tyranny if a leader is left to make decisions alone.

In conclusion, it is necessary for a leader, who wants to serve his people diligently, to mildly succumb to the will of the people and also mildly depend on his judgment. Through this moderate actions, the leader will not only thwart becoming tyrant, but will also please the people sately. Hence, any leader who wishes to govern justly should consider the people’s queries while also depending on his intuitions in taking decisions.