Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of

the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

For a researcher to understand the character of a particular tribe, it is pertinent for such researcher to consider several factors. These factors subsumes the tribe’s judicial system, morals, customs, and tradition. However, it is grotesque to consider heroes and role models as one of the factors needed to understand the attributes of a particular society. Hence, while other factors are considered, heroes and role models should not be chosen as a determining factor of the characteristics of a particular society.

To begin with, the historical trend of a particular society will provide deep insight into how this society live their lives. Historical records are reflective image of a society. These annals, which constitute of how adversaries are treated by a group and how comeuppance are dolted out to offenders and recidivist, will give deeper understanding of the level of empathy in this group. Additionally, they also provide clear insight on the methods these groups adopt to overcome adversaries. Also, through historical records, one can understand how this society treat women and animals.

Apart from studying historical trends, one need to study the society’s way of life. Through the study of a tribe’s quotidian activity, one would gain comprehensive understanding of the type of comestible they feed on, how these edibles are derived, the form of polity they adopt, how hidalgos and elites are treated, and the form of training and education given to progenies. These are weighty attributes a researcher will definitely study in a group.

However, a well-learned individual might cavil that heroes and role models are true emblems of a particular tribe. They might contend that it is extraneous to consider other forms such history and mores of the society. Thus, one should study only the men and women considered as heroes. However, it is ludicrous to say because Adolf Hitler is a martinet, the gamut of Germans are also strict disciplinarians. It is absurd to say because Mahatma Gandhi is a pacifist, the full-bore of Indians are dovish. Making induction using few people is largely detrimental to a study.

In conclusion, several factors are to be considered when studying the traits of a group. These qualities include the mores of the society, their way of subsistence, and the technique adopted to upbring their scions. However, relying on the study of qualities of these society’s heroes is insufficient. These heroes are humans. They are also likely to err. And it will be ridiculous to attribute the quality of a hero to the hero’s natural habitat.