The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a manufacturing company.

"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that the new company should mimic Panoply company in shortening its work hour shift by one hour makes a number of unwarranted assumptions regarding the assumption that what works best for Panoply will also be effective for the company, panoply’s shorter work shift led to the company’s low record of on-the-job accident, and the assumption that all panoply workers uses the shorter work shift to get adequate amount of rest. Taken as a whole, these unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated assumptions do not hold, the argument totally falls apart.

Firstly, the argument assumes panoply’s shorter work shift led to the company’s low record of on-the-job accident. There is no evidence in the statement indicating that the one hour less work shift is the only safety measure panoply puts in place to reduce the amount of on-the-job accident. Panoply might have strict regulations regarding accidents in the company such reduction of an employee’s salary when ever such employee is found feckless on duty. Thus, if panoply had other regulations that led to the low account of on-the-job, then the argument is invalid.

Secondly, the argument assumes all workers of panoply uses the shorter work shift to get adequate amount of rest. Some panoply workers might use the one hour work shift to focus on other things they were unable to do during the normal working hour such as maintaining the machines used in production, correcting some faults in the machines or performing other activities apart from resting. Additionally, the argument never states implicitly that panoply workers use their work shift to rest even if the one hour work shift might have been intended for them to rest. Thus, panoply’s shorter work shift might not contribute to the company’s superior safety record.

Thirdly, the argument Ignores the disadvantage of the one hour shift on the company’s profit. The argument fail to check the total profit earned by the panoply company. The shorter work shift will lead to a shorter production time which might in turn, lead to a shorter income. Thus, assuming that immitating panoply’s shorter work shift will still be profitable might seem risky.

Lastly, the argument fails to present the true number behind the 30-percent increase in on-the-job accident. If the true number behind this percentage is a small increment of say, 5 more people experiencing accident, then adopting Panoply’s policy might not worth it. On the other hand, if the real number behind the 30-percent increase is large, for example, 50 more people experience accident, then, adopting panoply’s policy might be the way out.

In conclusion, the argument that immitating Panoply’s shorter work hour shift policy makes a number of unwarranted assumptions that seriously weakens it validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed, the argument totally falls part. Thus, the new company might be making a major mistake by doing adopting Panoply’s policy of shorter work hour shift.