The following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Builders, a company that

constructs new homes.

"A nationwide survey reveals that the two most-desired home features are a large family

room and a large, well-appointed kitchen. A number of homes in our area built by our

competitor Domus Construction have such features and have sold much faster and at

significantly higher prices than the national average. To boost sales and profits, we should

increase the size of the family rooms and kitchens in all the homes we build and should make

state-of-the-art kitchens a standard feature. Moreover, our larger family rooms and kitchens

can come at the expense of the dining room, since many of our recent buyers say they do not

need a separate dining room for family meals."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Bower Builders has shown great concern about the firm’s development by suggesting the company imitate the current trend of larger rooms and kitchens. While this might be profitable for Bower Builders, the argument has failed to prove this. This is because the argument, which relies on confusing analogy, questionable assumptions, and lack of consideration for alternative factors, is largely vitiated by these blemishes.

To begin with, citing the greater sales of a competiting firm, Domus construction, the president assumes Domus construction is making great profit. This is flawed. There is no evidence in the argument relating sales to profitability. It might even be that Domus construction, which has been known to make great sales, is at the verge of liquidation, thereby succumbing to edifying any building without following proper regulations. Or perhaps the increased sales might be as a result of other factors such as brilliant advertisement, discount price, etc. To strengthen this argument, the president need to show other causes of Domus construction increased sales.

Apart from this, while quoting trend of big rooms and kitchens, the president assumes all Bower Builder clienteles can afford such structure. This might not be the case. In fact, a quorum of Bower Builder customers might not like colossal rooms and kitchens. Also, these customers, whom we know nothing about their pecuniary status, might not have the capacity to procure gargantuan edifices. It might also be that these customers’ land site might not be copious enough to sustain such structure. To improve this argument, the president will need to prove the buyers capacity. Else, the company might be ruined.

Lastly, while mentioning the preference of recent buyers, the president assumes old buys would also be interested in this ilk of design. This might be false. Old buyers, who are already innured to old designs of small rooms and kitchens, might not be willing to change their taste. Moreover, the president failed to state the amount of recent buyers who showed interest in large rooms. What if the number of buyers who despise large rooms surpass that of those who likes large rooms? This will ultimately lead to massive lose of customers for Bower Builders.

In summary, the president of Bower Builder has shown great altruism about the company by suggesting the company adopt a new trend of edifice. While this adoption might be beneficial, the president has failed to show this as he based his suggestion on blemished points. Therefore, it might not be advisable for Bower Builder, which is known with liliputian structures, to switch to constructing big rooms and kitchens.