We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Learning is an activity done consciously or unwittingly by human. There are several avenues of accumulating knowledge: while struggling with our limitations, during unforeseen circumstances, learning from others past experiences, among others. While some believe we learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling from our limitations, some others believe we learn our most treasured lessons from enjoying our successes. However, in most cases, humans learn their important lessons while struggling with their inhibitions and mulled over the lesson learnt while enjoying their successes.

History is fraught with several incidents of idealist who battled with several limitations, during these struggle, several lessons were accrued and these lessons were refined during the celebration of these idealist’s success. For example, the discovery of light bulb wasn’t happened at once. It took the great perseverance of the noble inventor, Thomas Edison for light bulb to be created. Thomas struggled with the creation of light bulb nine hundred and ninety-nine times before finally getting it right on the one thousandth time. At the conclusion of this invention, Thomas realized he had learnt a thousand ways of creating light bulb. These lessons were learnt while creating the light bulb and not after the creation of the light bulb.

Apart from this, Mohandas Gandhi contended with the British colonial masters in a non-seditious way in order to get the people of India liberty. In this process of this independence activity, several people were skeptical about Gandhi succeeding in winning the heart of the colonial masters in a non-violent way. While demanding for freedom for the Indians, Gandhi learnt several ways of tackling oppositions. He learnt methods and tactics of negotiating peacefully which finally led to the grant of independence to the Indians by the Great Britain. However, Gandhi’s stratagem was only recognized and celebrated after the success but most Gandhi’s contemporaries learnt valuable lessons during the freedom walk.

Although, some might argue that people sometimes learn from other’s failure. Also, some might cavil further that people sometimes learn from unforeseen circumstances. This is veracious to some extent. But mostly, people learn their unforgettable lessons while facing their limitations than while enjoying their successes. For example, Dr. Ben Carson, the great surgeon who first succeeded in rending conjoined twins apart faced several limitations while growing up and while struggling with these inhibitions, he learnt several unforgettable lessons that he passed down from generation to generation through his published book.

In conclusion, despite the fact that many circumstances lead to people learning either wittingly or unconsciously, most people learn their most valuable lessons while struggling with their limitations rather than enjoying their successes. Furthermore, most successful people only ponder on their acquired knowledge while celebrating their success than accumulating new knowledge during their success celebration. The stories of Thomas Edison, Mohandas Gandhi and Ben Carson are typical examples. Thus, human reflect more on their acquired knowledge during the enjoyment of their success.