The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their

contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

History is repleted with stories of great individuals. These individuals, who are known for their massive contribution towards the development of mankind, have acquired acclamations from numerous people. However, some feel this veneration should only come from individuals who had primitive experience with these magnates. But the effect of these magnates’ work is not only felt by these individuals. Modern man also feel these pundit’s impact. Hence, the greatness of individuals can be decided by their cohorts and those who live after them.

To begin with, the dexterity of government officials is not only determined by those who live with them but also by those who live after them. This is because, either good or bad, the effect of governance reflect on all and sundry. While those who lived alongside good public official like Abraham Lincoln can testify to his great leadership, those who lived after him can also attest to this greatness as they felt the impact of the emancipation movement which was pioneered by Abraham Lincoln. Hence, saying Abraham’s greatness should only be determined by his counterparts is farcical.

Apart from this, the sleight of great scientist is determined by both their contemporaries and those who lived after them. Breakthroughs in science have impact on both the old and present generation. Our developments, most of which are championed by great inventors such as Albert Einstein, Nikola Tesla and Thomas Edison, have reminded us not forget how great these people are. Thus, it will be grotesque to conclude that these people’s greatness can not be determined by people who lived after them.

However, a well reasonable individual might quibble that 21st century dwellers do not have primitive contact with 20th and 19th century inventors. Thus, it will be ludicrous to base our acclaimation on hearsays or histories. This is might be true. Hearsays and histories are often adulterated. The denouement of this is the extraneous underscore that is given to the individual who is being touted. But we also need to put into consideration these magnates’ value. Without history, anybody seeing The Mona Lisa, which was concocted by Leonardo Da Vinci, will also attest to the greatness of this artist.

In summary, the importance of past contributors who have had salient impact on human development can be determined by both their contemporaries and those who lived after them. This is because their work’s impacts span through several generations. Hence, it will be ridiculous to conclude that these greatness can only be determined by a few set of people.