The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People do not become great merely by doing great things, their greatness influences people and their lives; great people are supposed to lead by examples and they are attributed with idealogies which favor great merit and positive impact on the society -- maybe even the entire world. However, 'greatness' itself is highly ambiguous, as to how it should be be defined and whom to confer the title of the 'great' amongst all the contemporaries. By convenience, people have been entitled to do great deeds and remembered throughout a prolonged period of time only by the people who live after them. But, it may not be necessarily true that the greatness of the individuals has to be decided only by those who live after them for the ensuing reasons.

To begin with, the definition of greatness is quite vague; it is infact, so broad, that it encompases a wide range of deciding factors. People can contribute greatly and be regarded as the "messaih" of the society with a few deeds which have astonishingly huge impact on the lives of people. For example, Greta Thurnberg, a child, began repudiating the great leaders of the entire globe for not taking concrete actions against the impending doom -- the climate change and global warming. The voices raised by Greta and her beliefs made her globally renowned as a great individual. Just like how Great has been praised for her great thoughts and actions in mitigating the global issue of climate change, therefore, it is not necessary that the greatness of the individual is decided only by the people after them.

Another imperative concern we need to take note of is that the greatness of an individual is not defined only by people who live after them; they can be hailed as the greatest individuals for their particular contributions while they live. For instance, the prime minister of India, Narendra Modi, has made significant reforms in his tenure and thus regarded as a one of the greatest prime ministers of India. He is still alive and his alacrity to contribute more to his nation is what makes him a great prime minister and undoubtebly, his greatness stems from his actions, his decisions, and his contributions while he is still living and working. There are very few prime ministers like him who have been recognized for their great works while they were still alive in India. Therefore, the crux of this example is that greatness is not merely confined by the limit of time and space, it spans over the entire life of an individual or perhaps a miniscule contribution of the person can also allow him to be regarded for his greatness.

However, the confounding idea of greatness of an individual being recognized by the people after them cannot be neglected as well. There have been many instances in human history when people have been misjudged previously while they were alive; after their works were acknowledged later, they were remembered for their greatness. One of such person is Nicolaus Copernicus -- who was the person to state that the Earth revolved around the Sun instead of the other way around. He was condemned for this fatuous idea; it was only after telescope was invented and scientists were able to prove his idea that Nicolaus was proven right and he is still remembered for his significant contribution. Such examples can be found throughout the history of mankind. This suggests that the greatness of an individual can indeed be recognized by the people after them.

In conclusion, while it may be possible that the greatness of an individual is decided by the people after them, the greatness of an individual should be defined based on their contributions, the impact of their actions. Deciding the greatness of individuals by the people after them would not be enough to give those great people a sense of accomplishment for their contributions.