The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the study surmises that the use of salicylates would be able to mitigate the number of headaches suffered by the people in Mentia. The author asserted this based on the study which suggested that salicylates were correlated with a decrease in the number of headaches amongst the participant during twenty years. However, the author's argument is based on an unreliable study which doesn't have scientific evidences supporting the results. Furthermore, salicylates belonging to the members of the same family as aspirin doesn't mean it is able to act in the same way as aspirin does. With these gave assumptions, the author's recommendation of using salicylates could only no resolve the problem of headaches but it could invite unforeseen health calamities among the citizens of Mentia.

To begin with, there are numerous medicines belonging to the same family but have different effects on the people depending on the conditions of the people. The effects of medicines may not always be positive, but they can have serious side effects as well which could be deleterious to the public health. Those medicines potentially differ a lot in terms of their doses, efficiency, and means of ingestion. There are forms and ways of taking the medicines which apparantly alter the effects of medicines as well. For example, there is a valid reason why some medicines are capsulated while others are in the form of liquid in bottles; some are swallowed with water while other medicines might need honey or other solvents to ingest them. Therefore, before clearly being aware about the form, doses, and means of intaking the salicylates, it is a grave mistake to assume that they have the same effect as aspirin does. If this is true then, the author's argument is seriously flawed and can have serious repurcussions on the health of the citizens of Mentia.

Furthermore, the study on the efficacy of the medicines is a critical one and it should be based on scientific procedures and follow typical methodologies. However, the study upon which the author's argument is based on, does not compare the effect of salicylates on people who ingested salicylates with food and who did not. The decline on the number of headaches could potentially be due to the improvement in the environmental conditions of the place of study. It is possible that the people who were participated had a higher resistance to headaches and may be the frequency of headaches were also inherently lower. The study does fails to identify several essential factors which could affect the results of the study -- place of study, age and sex of the participants, number of participants are some of those factors which could potentially drive the results of the study in any directions. The author's argument, therefore, does not hold water and it is imperative to conduct the study more scientifically to gather reliable evidence for the uses of salicylates.

Finally, the author also suggested in the argument that using salicylates as flavor additives for foods merely because many food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. It is always unbiased conclusion that businesses are always profit oriented and seldom care for the welfare of the people. Therefore, it is highly likely that additing salicylates in the food products by the food-processing companies is rife with alternative motives-- maybe for enhancing the taste and flavour, or may be to make people addicted to their food. There is also the need to study the effect brought about by those food among the people; the likely impact of salicylates in different doses is also another concern. Additionally, there is also a dilemma of how much salicylates is the right amount for the people to reduce the headaches. With these concerns, the author's argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, salicylates, merely being in the same family of aspirin, results based on an unscientific study and trend set by profit-oriented food processing companies is not enough to support the fact that salicylates caused the decline in the number of headaches. Salicylates needs to be scientifically assessed for its effects on human beings at different doses and if it turns out that salicylates can indeed cause decline in the number of headaches, we should research on the best method of ingestion of salicylates instead of believing some money-minded businesses and properly regulate the use of salicylates for reducing the number of headaches amongst the citizens of Mentia.