The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The report in the newsletter of the West Meria Punlic Health Council recommended the daily use of a supplement derived from fish oil to prevent cold based on the study , which reported that fish consumption was able to prevent colds in the residents in East Meria. This argument, however, is rife with unwarrented assumptions, and significantly weakens the argument, asserting the need to evaluate the following three evidences before making a recommendation.

To begin with, the study reporting the prevention of cold by consuming fish in East Meria doesn't have much credibility. The study is not transparent enough to substantial information on the number of people studied on, the type of study conducted, and the presence of any kinds of biasedness. If any of these factors have been compromised in the study, the report is potentially flawed and cannot be relied upon to make any recommendations. In addition to this, the study clearly doesn't indicate the types of people studied which would seriously impact the results. For example, if such people were studied who stayed at home without commuting to work, then, the result cannot be applied to people who commute to work everyday in cold season. If these evidences have merit, the argument doesn't hold water.

In the same way, the cold might not even be the actual reason for absenteeism in schools and workplaces. Since the study itself is skewed and cannot be relied upon, it might be possible that the cause of absenteeism is something else. It is necessary to investigate properly if the absenteeism is continued during the summer season as well. For example, the students and workers in workplaces might have been facing a disease such as diarrohea which not only spreads in cold season but also affects the people in summer season due to contaminated water. Furthermore, the cause of the absenteeism might be different based on the location; the report from East Meria, therefore, is not sufficient to make similar recommendation in West Meria since the causes might not be the same in both places. The argument, failing to consider these imperative aspects related to the causes of absenteeism, is therefore, severely weakened, thereby highlighting the need to conduct a better investigation to find out the root cause in West Meria.

However, even if we consider that the absenteeism is indeed due to cold, the nutritional supplement might not be the best solution to solve the issue. Although food and supplements can improve the immunity of people, healthy lifestyle and proper living conditions can possibly have huge impact on the prevention of such climate induced problems. People living in Alaska, for instance, have developed a way of living which allows them to combat the cold weather; they have modified house structures, proper clothing, and a lifestyle that suits cold weather. The people in West Meria, however, might not have a suitable lifestyle to adapt to cold climate making them vulnerable despite using fish oil derived supplement. In this case, it might not be possible to make a clear recommendation without proper investigation, and the argument doesn't hold merit.

In conclusion, as the argument stands as of now, is severely weakened because of unwarranted assumptions regarding the cause of the absenteeism, and the study reported from East Meria. It is, therefore, essential to understand the root cause of the issue by conducting a scientific study for West Meria itself before making futher recommendations.