It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or

might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people believe that it is the cause and effect relationship that compels us to form social groups, and it is the very social groups which truely reveals how those people are only upon studying those groups. Human beings, by nature, are emotional and social, requiring the assistance of others' company to continue with their livelihood. We buildup soil relationship with likeminded people or with those whom we deem worthy of our acquiantance; such relationship are driven by myriad of factors -- avaricity, trust being few of those drivers of our social relationships. Governed by such drivers, we form social groups, and when we identify people within these groups based on the same factors, we can define ourselves.

A sagacious persion once said, " If we want to know the people around us, you have to know ourselves". It's true that social groups are the result of our own needs and wants which leads us to groups together so that we trade amongst ourselves; people exchange their grievances and joy, trade their wealth to obtain the richness of other people. Usually people are grouped together with a common objective and if we could meticulously identify the goals and needs of the people as a group, we would gain a better understanding of the people within that group as well. Let's take an example of teenagers in current era, where they form small circles for various purposes, some may be interested in dancing and form dance groups, some may be attracted to sports and might form soccer clubs and so on. Clubs, circles, and gatherings are formed by those people who are likeminded and upon carefully analyzing the nature of the group, we can more or less define the nature of the people witin that group as well. Therefore, through an identificaiton of social groups, we can define the nature of the participating people as well.

Furthermore, social groups can somtimes be formed out of necessity as well; which shows how people react to circumstances or unforeseen situations. The miniscule elements of human nature are often revealed during unexpected events. For example, during the revolution for freedom led by Gandhi in India, people united together and their augmented voices were eventually heard and were able to gain freedom for their country and nation. However, the unity and the groupism among the people was fueled by the current situation of their society which compelled them to join their hands against a common enemy. This showed the patriotism, and devotion of the entire indian population at that time who sacrificed their life for the country. The social groups formed in such a way clearly define the people based on their circumstances and how they participated in the social groups.

FInally, social groups are also governed by certain rules and tacit understanding amongst the people. If the people do not have a chemistry with each other, it is impossible for them to coexist in the same group. For example, if an individual like to talk a lot while others do not like this nature of his, then, eventually he could be kicked out the group. In contrast to this, if an introverted individual tends to exist in a group with many extroverts, the introverted individual would have no choice other than leaving the group at some point or to be suppressed within the group. These nature of the groups, how they function, and the dynamics around the social objectives truely define the participants of any group.

In conclusion, a social group is composed of human beings, who possess immense emotions and contextual judgementing ability; this enables people to either co-exist or compete with each other within or with the goups. Therefore, by identifying the social groups, we can indeed define ourselves far more better.