“It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Society is a form of human interactions, while also a platform to converge intelligence of cognition and ideas of an individual. Some may argue that social groups that we participate in have the priority to define ourselves; however I take a more equilibrium stance, that we excavate our personality also by our hobby, ideology, and the conversation with ourselves.

The importance of social group was never been understated. According to Maslow, he put it as the third most important need for humans, following food and security, manifesting the role it plays in our daily lives. In addition, we all learn by exchanging thoughts with our group, and by finding a group that fits and being a part of the group surely aid to know ourselves. For instance, since elementary school, we start to find friends that we feel comfortable chatting with; later, we may join clubs or teams due to the same interest and talent that the group share. As we grow up, we study with peers that study the same major, and even furthermore, join companies not just because salary, but also the same expertise we share. With this perspective, social groups surely plays a major role in identifying ourselves.

However, this is not the only source that inform our personality to us. It has been widely proven, that individual activities can also help us to ponder who are we, and how do we think. Since the 21 century, many people started to participate in yoga or meditation, which often does not require a group of people to complete. When sharing their experiences and its benefits, the most common advantages that mentioned wre the opportunity to relax, slow down living pace, and revise themselves. Indeed, by meditating without disturbance, we are more likely to examine ourselves and unveil our personality, which could not be done by just joining a social group or having interactions with others. Moreover, many people have the habit of writing dairies, which has the same function as mentioned above. The words written everyday are precious gifts for ourselves, to put our personality under a microscope and analyzing it with a more objective perspective. Individual thinking can help us to identify ourselves without a doubt.

By how to define ourselves is a long-disputed issue. Although some may assert that social group is the primary source to discover personality effectively, I took a more balanced point of view by approbating the importance of self-thinking. Only by both measures can we learn about us with a more comprehensive way, and a more complete personality.