It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

A person’s identity is akin to a product description tag. An identity is literally who a person is, their personality, talents and qualities. Throughout life, a person builds their identity, and many external factors weigh in, especially social groups like the close circle of friends, acquaintances and colleagues. Assuming an identity that is influenced by social groups is often noticeable.

When it comes to generation Z, most of the people want to fit in and considered relevant to the times. It is often peer pressure that begins to mould one’s identity. “Does a popular person in school or college listen to Drake’s music and wears Vans? Then I will too, I also want to be noticed and popular”, is a common notion among most teens and young adults. People worry too much about appearing unique or not according to social norms defined by social groups that they begin adopting different identities. Most people enjoy having a social life, they want to attend parties, gatherings, celebrations, etc..., they want to actively participate in events. Most socially active people identify themselves with a social group. It makes it easier to be liked by others and is almost a form of self-validation. Having fun experiences is a large part of life. Such social groups tend to compose of like-minded individuals, and only such individuals generally get invited to such gatherings. In the corporate world, a person tries to mesh with their team individuals, if the environment is competitive, the person tries to level their work with the others. It can sometimes result in a positive change. For instance, Elon Musk taking over twitter resulted in the replacement of Parag Mishra and his close associates because of the differences in their work ethics. A work ethic, though composing unique factors, is defined by social groups.

Even though one must take their own path in figuring out and defining their identity, its almost comforting to associate oneself to a social group, be it a nation or a friend circle. When one looks at it from the perspective of the circle of life, different social groups keep shaping our identities. Throughout our childhood, our families and the values attached define us, then the influence of school and college factors in. It is then compounded by our working community, income levels, etc… Such social groups create a sense of belonging and helps one to identify their purpose in life.

In conclusion, different social groups are steppingstones and constantly cause the metamorphosis of a person’s identity, resulting in an individual’s make up that gels with the social group they belong to. Throughout the process of interacting with different people an groups, we define ourselves.