The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

True success is only achieved when one accepts and overcomes their failures. Success is not primarily materialistic, it is a state of mind resistant to any negativity that may cause it to crumble. Ingraining such a principal must start at a young age itself. One of the most brilliant scientists to ever exist, Albert Einstein- was far from perfect. He failed an uncountable number of times, but every fibre of his existence did not give up. His journey to greatness was bolstered by the support of his mentor, Dr. Max Talmey. Talmey was present with him during his successes and around 99 failures, it’s a story of poignancy. He chose not to ignore his shortcomings, rather to address them and make him a better individual. This ultimately led to stardom in the field of science for Einstein, his most appreciated theory being that light can behave as a particle as well and not only as a wave. This revolutionised the field of theoretical physics. Not only did he become an extraordinary scientist with multiple accolades to his name, but he also learnt important life lessons and teachings from his mentor which made him a wise person. This marks the importance of an impactful teacher.

Every individual is flawed. As children we lack the maturity to distinguish between right and wrong and more importantly, children’s negative actions are hardly pointed out based on the assumption that they will learn to correct themselves in the future. Though individuality and self-improvement are cardinal life skills, realising our shortcomings at a young age will definitely go a long way. For example, in many schools in India, from the sixth grade itself, there is neck to neck competition when it comes to academics. The students that perform well are appreciated, given scholarships. But similar treatment is not given to the students that fail. They are discriminated by other students itself and made to attend remedial classes and such. Though actions need to be taken to address the problem regarding average and below average performance of certain students, the teachers should help these students solve any dilemmas, such that they are not repeated in the future. Constructive criticism is a pillar of education. An intelligent student can be haughty and insolent. It is the teacher’s responsibility to correct such behaviour.

When it comes to family, values are inculcated from childhood. It is the parents’ responsibility to boost the morale of their children so that they have the confidence to achieve great things but at the same time address their negative qualities so that they don’t end up hurting others or in vulnerable positions. As one moves through their journey in life, they carry these morals with them. But it is unlikely that they will be perfect individuals even then. For example, an employer should encourage good work and results but at the same time correct any wrongdoings or decisions to help them arrive at the right results. This boosts the employee’s chance of success in general.

In conclusion, the crux of an individual’s personality bears fruit consisting of learnings from corrected negative actions along with positive actions and values.