The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this era, people’s lives are bustling, they wish to have more than twenty-four hours in a day. In general, a working person’s day is packed with engaging activities and responsibilities. Once he completes one task, he moves on to another, always being preoccupied. This rapid pace of life results in more hassles than peace. Routine is comfort, it adds stability to life. But, At the same time, we tend to become avaricious. We try to fit in more activities to complete and do not really take time for ourselves. There is no time to relax, introspect and retrospect.

Life has always been a rat race. This notion begins in when a child begins attending school and sticks with you till you are content with life. Unhealthy competition benefits nobody. For instance, in India, when students complete their 12th grade, many of them attempt the IIT-JEE exam. This exam is one of the most arduous examinations in the world. Qualifying this exam guarantees the student admission to one of the most prestigious institutions- IIT. The preparation for this exam begins when the student is in grade 8 itself. This immense neck and neck competition is forced onto a fraction of students who cannot deal with the pressure. This ultimately as led to problems like depression and anxiety. The students are overcome with lassitude.

Advancements in technology have been and are replete with benefits for mankind. They have made life easier and efficient. It also comes with its drawbacks. To quote Newton’s law of motion, “every action has an equal and opposite reaction”. For instance, the invention of motor vehicles has been the greatest boon to man. It has made transport extremely convenient. Opulence has resulted in every person owning a vehicle today. Pollution levels, as a result have exceeded all limits resulting in greenhouse effect and global warming. It has also caused a multitude of respiratory infections, babies born with genetic defects and has had ill-effects on the food chain. These problems overshadow this landmark of an achievement.

This fast-paced life despite being thrilling and a rollercoaster of emotions, has resulted in man biting more than he can chew. It has disrupted sleep patterns and the biological clock, caused issues in the menstrual cycle, frustration, stress and agitation. Ignoring health and state of well-being is going to culminate in a reduced life span and is detrimental to mankind. It is of prime importance now to take some time for rejuvenation of the mind and body, connect with the earth.